Middlesbrough is a large town situated on the south bank of the River Tees in North East England, that sits within the ceremonial county of North Yorkshire. The local authority is Middlesbrough Borough Council.
Historic counties of England part of the North Riding of Yorkshire, in 1968 the town became the centre of the County Borough of Teesside, which was absorbed by the non-metropolitan county of Cleveland, England in 1974. In 1996 Cleveland was abolished, and Middlesbrough became a unitary authority, within the ceremonial counties of England of North Yorkshire.
Middlesbrough is different from the other districts on Teesside, as the borough is almost entirely urbanised, thus making it the largest town in terms of area and population, but the smallest district. However, the areas of Eston, Grangetown, North Yorkshire, Normanby, Redcar and Cleveland, Ormesby, and South Bank, Middlesbrough in the neighbouring borough of Redcar and Cleveland, are also part of the Middlesbrough agglomeration.
To the northeast of Middlesbrough lies the River Tees, approximately away. A few miles to the south lies the edge of the North York Moors National Park.
Teesport, the UK's third largest port, lies to the east, and Durham Tees Valley Airport lies  to the west, near Darlington.

Add Comment